the poop on poop

Diverticulosis ~ Looks like black beans in there, huh?

I can’t seem to get enough of talking about poop lately. My husband has diverticulosis – “small pouches (diverticula) in the lining of the colon that bulge outward through weak spots.” About fifty percent of people over 60 have it.

He didn’t even know he had it until it was diagnosed during a colonoscopy over ten years ago. Diverticulosis is pretty painless unless it becomes inflamed or infected (diverticulitis). Then, all bets are off. You don’t want to do anything to get those little guys roiled up. It can be very painful. A few years ago, we had a middle-of-the-night trip to the emergency room that serves to remind us of how painful it can be.

Here comes the poop.

Doctors aren’t exactly sure what causes diverticulosis but they have a hunch that a low-fiber diet contributes to it. Eating a high-fiber diet is important. “Without fiber to add bulk to the stool, the colon has to work harder than normal to push the stool forward.” See, you knew I’d get to the poop eventually.

Being the nagging loving spouse that I am, I badger encourage my husband to stick to a high-fiber diet. I’m always looking for recipes. He likes every kind of bean, and beans are a rich source of fiber. One of his favorites is the black bean. I did a search for bean burgers on Food Network and quickly found a video of Sandra Lee making black bean burgers. You can find the written recipe here. I emailed the video link to him. The next day, wondering if he found the recipe worth trying, I instigated this conversation.

Me ~ Did you watch that video of Sandra Lee making black bean burgers?

Hubs ~ Yeah.

Me ~ So whad’ya think.

Hubs ~ She had a breast reduction.

Me ~ What?

Hubs ~ She used to have bigger boobs.

Me ~ *exhibiting great restraint* WHAT did you think of her Black Bean Burgers?

Hubs ~ Her beans? They’re the same size they’ve always been.

Clearly, his colon is not the only thing that’s perforated. Someone should check his brain.

This recipe for Garbanzo Bean Burgers with Tehina Onion Sauce sounds good. We like humus around our house and I think we’d like this. Of course, I haven’t tried these recipes yet. When I do, I’ll get back to you because I know you won’t make stupid comments about Sandra Lee’s boobs.

Sources: WebMD, NDDIC

Leave a comment