Provençal Vegetable Tian

I did a bad thing. Before I tell you what I did, you must hear my excuses. It’s always good to make your excuses before you confess.

My doctor has the absolute worst selection of magazines in the entire world in his waiting room. The men fare a little better than the ladies. They will find a Golf Digest, Men’s Health, or a Sports Illustrated here or there. Nothing for us girls. It’s a barren desert. If I judged his ability to keep my heart going by his taste in magazines, I would find another cardiologist immediately.

So a while ago, I took an armful of my old Southern Living and Country Living magazines and placed them strategically around the room. I even snuck a few into some of the examining rooms. Hey, waiting for the doctor in that tiny room, wearing nothing but that tiny johnny can prove a bit stressful, and if a little Martha or Oprah or Southern Living can ease the palpitations, who’s to judge.

A few weeks ago, I was waiting, waiting, waiting when I noticed a stray Martha Stewart magazine on one of the tables. Could it be? And it was a current issue. Stunned that Martha should actually find her way into this waiting room, barren of any self-respecting “women’s” magazines, I scarfed it up and started leafing through it.

I found a beautiful vegetable tian that looked delicious, and that’s when I made the decision to do a very bad thing. You know where I’m going with this, don’t you? I stole the magazine. And… I made the recipe. It is my favorite NEW recipe that I’ve tried this year. And it’s October, y’all. I have no idea why it’s so good because there’s not much to it – fresh vegetables, thyme and a little olive oil.

My only regret is that I didn’t find the recipe earlier in the summer so I could have shared it with you when you could still get wonderful, fresh produce. Our local vegetable stand will close in a few weeks. Our tomatoes are at the very end of their season and so are the eggplants. I will make this recipe early and often next summer, and I’ll post a link to this post next spring to remind you.

Just so you know, I will return the stolen magazine next week, and seek redemption by adding a few more of my Prevention, Eating Well, and Country Living magazines to the meager selection in my Doctor’s waiting room. I’m beginning to think there are so few women’s magazines because we can’t resist a good recipe. So WE STEAL the magazine.

I’d love to link to the recipe on Martha Stewart so you could see her photo. It’s prettier than mine, but I can’t find it there. There are other vegetable tian recipes there but not this one. I’m  not sure why. Maybe because it’s the current issue. So you’re stuck with me. Maybe it will be there next month.

Provençal Vegetable Tian (entire recipe follows pics)

Drizzle 1 tablespoon oil in a shallow 2-quart baking dish. Layer half the leeks in the dish.

Then cover with half the potato; season with 1/2 teaspoon of salt and a pinch of pepper (I doubled the potatoes).

Top with a layer each of half the eggplant, half the zucchini (I used 2 zucchinis), and half the tomatoes; season with 1/2 teaspoon salt and a pinch of pepper.

Scatter with half the olives and half the thyme. Drizzle with 2 tablespoons oil. Repeat layering and seasoning with remaining vegetables.

Drizzle with remaining oil, and cover loosely with foil. (I may have used just a tiny bit more oil. Yep. Probably did.)

 Bake 20 minutes, then remove foil. Press vegetables down with a spatula, and bake until potato is tender and edges are well caramelized, about 45 minutes more. Let cool 10 minutes before slicing.

Provençal Vegetable Tian

Active Time : 20 minutes

Total Time: 1 hour 25 minutes

Serves: 6 to 8

6 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided

2 cups thinly sliced leeks, white and pale-green parts only, rinsed well (1 large leek)

1 Yukon Gold potato (8 ounces), sliced 1/4 inch thick (I doubled this. 1 potato is not enough)

1 small eggplant (12 ounces), trimmed and sliced 1/4 inch thick

1 large zuchinni (8 ounces), sliced 1/4 inch thick (I used 2)

3 large beefsteak tomatoes, sliced 1/4 inch thick

1/4 cup Kalamata olives, pitted and roughly chopped (definitely use Kalamata)

2 teaspoons fresh thyme leaves, divided, plus more for garnish

salt and pepper

Preheat ove to 45o% F

1 – Drizzle 1 tablespoon oil in a shallow 2-quart baking dish. Layer half the leeks in the dish,then cover with half the potato; season with 1/2 teaspoon of salt and a pinch of pepper. Top with a layer each of half the eggplant, half the zucchini, and half the tomatoes; season with 1/2 teaspoon salt and a pinch of pepper. Scatter with half the olives and half the thyme. Drizzle with 2 tablespoons oil. Repeat layering and seasoning with remaining vegetables. Drizzle with remaining oil, and cover loosely with foil. (I may have used just a tiny bit more oil. Yep. Probably did.)

2 – Bake 20 minutes, then remove foil. Press vegetables down with a spatula, and bake until potato is tender and edges are well caramelized, about 45 minutes more. Let cool 10 minutes before slicing.

Leftovers are just as good as the the first day. I think this recipe would be good with the addition of some Gruyère or fresh mozzarella or Parmesan cheese. I grated some Parmesan on top the second time I made it. Delish.

Leave a Reply

