Pumpkin Bread

I know I promised to share this recipe early last week, but we had a bug attack. A tiny microorganism invaded our systems and wreaked havoc. Things are finally back on track around here so here’s my pumpkin bread recipe… albeit a little late.

Over thirty-five years ago, my father gave me one of those spiral bound cookbooks that Junior Leagues around the country are so fond of putting together. I have several versions of these cookbooks. They have wonderful local recipes in them. This one is Virginia Hospitality by Junior League of Hampton Roads, VA (copyright © 1975).

My copy is a bit frayed around the edges, and many of the pages are dog-eared and spotted with bits of recipes tried over the years. I’ve pulled it off the shelf many times over several decades. Every autumn, I turn to the Pumpkin Bread page. As you can see, it’s adorned with splotchy graffiti from my sloppy cooking practices. You can find a less weathered version of this book on eBay; I just did a search for it.

This is a very simple recipe. If you like pumpkin bread, you’ll probably like it. We do. A wonderful side benefit of making this bread is that the entire house smells like autumn spices as it bakes. Delightful. Enjoy!

Pumpkin Bread

3 1/2 cups flour

3 cups sugar

1 teaspoon nutmeg

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon allspice

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup vegetable oil

4 eggs

2 cups canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)

1/2 cup walnuts, chopped (optional) *

1/2 cup raisins (optional) *

Preheat oven to 350 F degrees. Mix all dry ingredients; add remaining ingredients and mix well. Bake in 2 well-greased loaf pans 50 – 60 minutes.

*I always add the raisins and walnuts.

Leave a Reply

