six-month checkup

Yesterday was a little stressful, but all ended well. I can’t believe it’s been six months since I had the cardioversion. The doctor was concerned about the heart palpitations I’ve been experiencing (so was I), and even though he claimed that my heart sounded pretty good with the stethoscope, he wanted an EKG. The EKG showed that I’m still in rhythm. This is excellent news.

He was so excited when he came through the door after he’d read the EKG. He confessed that he’d been afraid I’d gone back into A-Fib.

He did change my blood pressure meds to a bata blocker because of the palpitations, and it could lower my chances of developing further heart issues. One of the side effects is depression. You know I’m not thrilled about that, but it only affects about 5%. Hopefully, I’ll be in the 95%.  One of the other side effects is a slow heart rate. That wouldn’t be a bad thing in my case.

I was glad to be home yesterday evening. We sat on the deck for a while. The humidity was low and the temps were in the seventies. There was a slight breeze. It couldn’t have been more perfect at the end of such a day.

While I was sitting there in the examining room, waiting for the results of the EKG, I promised myself to stop stressing over things I can’t control. Herm – Mr. Laidback – always tells me it will be the end of me someday if I don’t stop. Of course, it’s my nature, and you remember the fable about the scorpion and the frog.

“Hellooo Mr. Frog!” called the scorpion across the water, “Would you be so kind as to give me a ride on your back across the river?”

“Well now, Mr. Scorpion! How do I know that if I try to help you, you wont try to kill me?” asked the frog hesitantly.

“Because,” the scorpion replied, “If I try to kill you, then I would die too, for you see I cannot swim!”

Now this seemed to make sense to the frog.

So the frog agreed to take the scorpion across the river. He swam over to the bank and settled himself near the mud to pick up his passenger. The scorpion crawled onto the frog’s back, his sharp claws prickling into the frog’s soft hide, and the frog slid into the river. The muddy water swirled around them, but the frog stayed near the surface so the scorpion would not drown. He kicked strongly through the first half of the stream, his flippers paddling wildly against the current.

Halfway across the river, the frog suddenly felt a sharp sting in his back and, out of the corner of his eye, saw the scorpion remove his stinger from the frog’s back. A deadening numbness began to creep into his limbs.

“You fool!” croaked the frog, “Now we shall both die! Why on earth did you do that?”

The scorpion shrugged, and did a little jig on the drowning frog’s back.

“I could not help myself. It is my nature.”

Source: All About Frogs

We are who we are.

Posted in Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “six-month checkup

  1. i feel horrible. you didn’t tell me it was your checkup, you just let me ramble on and on and on about nonsense instead of important stuff like your health. I am as happy as a pig in slop that you’re doing well. We have lots of unfinished business. luv ya.

    • no, no. you didn’t ramble on. i live to hear your stories. i thought i told you i was going down but then we only spoke a couple of times afterwards and they were pretty quick conversations and i was eating my lunch in your ear twice. LOL

Leave a Reply

