Books for Boys

A couple of weeks ago my friend was opining about her quest for interesting books for her seven-year-old grandson. She said they enjoy their reading time together, but they’ve gone through most of the authors with whom she’s familiar. She said she knows there must be more out there but she’s stumped.

I’m afraid I was not much help. It’s been a long time since I had a seven-year-old boy, but I recalled reading a post over at The Diamond in the Window about “the world of books being somehow less welcoming to boys than it is to girls.”  It’s entitled It’s a Boy Thing, You Wouldn’t Understand, and the author and my friend have similar thoughts on this subject. She acknowledges some of the same concerns.

I’ve visited The Diamond in the Window for a while. It’s where I go for recommendations about books for my grandchildren. They live in Illinois and I’m in Virginia. It’s so convenient to choose a book online and have it sent directly to them. No muss, no fuss! Only one problem, I need a little guidance. The internet is a wonderful place, but it’s helpful to have a little knowledge before you begin your search.

You’ll find these words in the sidebar.

Need a book recommendation?

Just send your child’s age, reading (and other interests),

books or stories he or she has liked in the past

to thediamondinthewindow (at) gmail (dot) com,

and we’ll see what we can do.

The Diamond in the Window is a helpful resource for parents, but it’s essential for out-of-the-loop grandparents. We need all the help we can get. I’ve listed The Diamond in the Window under Books. You can find it in the sidebar.

Another site is recommended in the post, Guys Read. Guys Read says, “Our mission is to help boys become self-motivated, lifelong readers.” You may want to check it out.

Share

Leave a Reply

