life without caffeine

So I gave up coffee a few days ago. I should have given it up as soon as I found out I had A-Fib but nobody told me. Thank you, Internet! I’ve had a few headaches, but it hasn’t been nearly as bad as I thought it would be. I gave up sodas a few years ago and I drink decaf tea. So about one cup of coffee (more or less) every morning was my only caffeine intake.

I slept eleven hours last night. ELEVEN hours. I haven’t done that since I was a teenager. I thought, WoW! Now that I’ve kicked the caffeine, I’m going to sleep like a baby every night. But not so much. Here I am at 1:25 am, after a few hours of sleep, wide awake and nowhere to go. Ha! Anybody wanna go dancin’?

I have my follow-up for the cardioversion on Friday. I have Coumadin training next Monday. It’s about time. I’ve been on Coumadin at least six weeks. I don’t know how that fell through the cracks, but I mentioned to a nurse that I felt like I didn’t know what I was doing and she asked me if the film had helped? I said, “What film?” Then she asked me about the Coumadin training and she was shocked that no one had told me about it. Everyone who starts taking Coumadin should take this class and I was never told about it. Swell.

Here’s hoping you’re sleeping soundly.

2 thoughts on “life without caffeine

  1. oh 😦 maybe it will take some time for the change to really kick in? If you slept 11 hours, I think that it will get better. I wonder. About your doctor’s office, this is the second time they forgot to tell you something isn’t it?

    • Yes, it is. The doctor is all about “fixing” whatever is wrong and he delegates everything else to others. There’s definitely a disconnect and the patient really needs to stay on their toes. I think maybe it’s the way things are being done now. I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

