I forgot what??

They’re changing or improving or just messing with the Virginia driver’s license. I’m guessing the latter.

This is the year for my license to expire and my birth month is May. I received a reminder notice in April. So, I had to beat a path down to the DMV and get it renewed during May.

Seems simple doesn’t it? Who can’t use an excuse to spend a few relaxing hours at the DMV? Take a load off in those comfy chairs.

I misplaced my reminder letter. Okay, that’s a lie. I didn’t misplace it. It was where I keep all current items labeled “crap to get to”. There’s a “crap to get to basket” that sits on a table behind me. I’m sure you have something similar in your house. All bills and notices and stuff with deadlines go in that basket. Think of it as a holding pattern with shiny, silver planes waiting to land or a waiting room with pretty wallpaper or a doctor’s office with lousy magazines.

I’m a conscientious person. In fact, some would say too much so. Here’s the problem. I’m getting forgetful now. I forget things that I never would have forgotten a few years ago. That’s okay because I have a big old brain. I call it MAC. Mac never forgets anything that I ask him to remember… unless…. drum roll please…. I forget to ask him to remember it. I forgot to put “driver’s license renewal” on Mac’s calendar.

I thought all was fine and dandy when I came across the renewal notice while paying bills on Thursday. I have a friend who once told me that lots of makeup (especially blush and lipstick) will improve that sickly pale appearance in photos . Swell, I thought, I’ll get up early tomorrow morning and shower and wash my hair and paint me up some nice 1980s lips and put blush on with a hand that would make Geppetto proud. No more washed out casket photos for me. I’ll be purddy on my driver’s license.

And that’s just what I did.

Then I drove over to the DMV yesterday morning and read the sign on the door.

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) customer service centers will be closed Friday, May 28th to reduce state costs with employees on unpaid leave untill Tuesday.

After the big effort with the war paint, I learned that license photos will now be in black-and-white to improve security and curtail counterfeiting. No color!? So what’s the point of makeup?

And did you know????

The DMV reserves the right to refuse to issue a driver’s license or ID card to any applicant who appears for photographing in a disguise or intentionally distorts their face to alter their appearance. According to the DMV, a disguise includes, but is not limited to, unusual makeup, paint, wig, sunglasses or false facial hair. Facial distortion includes, but is not limited to, deliberately crossing or squinting eyes, or opening or twisting mouth.

Associated Press/NBC Washington

So I guess that means I can’t do this.

DMV won’t open for business till Tuesday, June 1. I will be the proud owner of an expired Virginia driver’s license by then. It won’t matter. I’ll get up on Tuesday morning and I’ll brush and shower and powder and paint myself once again. Even if nobody can tell… I’m gonna look good, y’all.

5 thoughts on “I forgot what??

  1. I do feel bad for you…and don’t forget that darn eye test. I renewed mine last year during my birthday month, so it was before the photo on both sides and absolutely no smiling (so i’m told)..I don’t envy your trip on Tues, but I believe DMV has gotten just a little bit more user friendly. Hopefully all will go well.

    • Yes, the dreaded eye test and Herm said there’s absolutely no smiling. He had to get another one when he lost his wallet a few weeks ago. Remember? I guess smiling is some sort of security risk.

  2. I enjoy what you guys are up too. This sort of clever work and
    exposure! Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve incorporated you guys
    to my own blogroll.

  3. Aw, this was an exceptionally good post.

    Finding the time and actual effort to generate a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate a lot and don’t
    seem to get nearly anything done.

  4. This is really attention-grabbing, You are a very skilled blogger.

    I’ve joined your rss feed and sit up for seeking
    more of your excellent post. Also, I have shared your site
    in my social networks

Leave a Reply

