Happy Birthday

Of all our goofy photos in all our goofy years, this has to be in the top ten. 1986

I know I’m late on this post – almost too late. My best friend’s birthday is today. We’ve been best friends for over 40 years. That’s a lot of ups and downs.

My sister has been on my mind a lot lately. I’ve been truly intimate with two women in my adult life – my sister and my best friend. It’s funny how my relationship with my sister often felt like that of a best friend, and how at some point my best friend became a sister to me.

Guys often talk sports and cars and bosses and careers. Women talk about themselves, their children, their parents, their husbands. You can’t be a true friend or sister without this connection. When I look at the things for which I am truly grateful, my relationships with these two women are at the top of my list. My life would have been intrinsically different had I not known them. I would have been intrinsically different.

Do you remember the day we took that goofy picture, Patsy? You came to visit us when we lived in Maryland and you were wearing that dress. I was flabbergasted because I had a blouse made from the same fabric. We couldn’t believe it. We had both bought clothing that looked like we’d pulled the tablecloth off someone’s kitchen table. I quickly put my blouse on and Herm took this photo that lives in infamy. We may not have a photo of our loaf of Wonder Bread adventure, but we’ll always have our madras or plaid or check or whatever the hell it was. They can’t take that away from us.

Happy birthday best friend/sister!

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday

Leave a Reply

