Our Latest Project… On a Shoestring…

We’ve been working on a project around here for several weeks. We did it on a shoestring – very little money was involved, mostly elbow grease. There have been trips up into the attic, down into the garage, over to Goodwill, across town to Marshall’s, and down the street to Home Depot and Target. Cans of paint have been involved, a bit of sanding and buffing has occurred. Assembling and shoring up has taken place and nailing down too. There’s been hanging and leveling and a general sprucing up.

Only one person has seen the results of all this mayhem, and his name begins with a J, and he can keep a secret.

This is how it all began. Brandon needed a bed when he was about 2 1/2 to 3-years-old. I went on a scavenger hunt because that’s what I always did back then. It was cheaper (sometimes free – as in this case), and I liked old things. I (and sometimes Herm) would crawl all over thrift stores and junk shops in search of just the right treasure.

In this case, all we had to do was roam around in a dusty, old barn with tiny mice creeping here and there. This bed was stored in H’s stepfather’s barn. When he realized I was looking for an old iron bed, he invited me to take a look. He liked the fact that I had the druthers for old things.

I’ll never forget that day. We climbed up to the loft in his huge, old barn. Herm’s stepfather liked me very much, and I knew it pleased him to know that he had the precise thing I was looking for. Shafts of sunlight poured in through the gaps between the weathered boards. I peered through the diluted light as dust motes floated aimlessly in the air. When my eyes adjusted, I saw not one but at least half a dozen beautiful, old iron beds. He told me to choose the one I liked most.

Now I know old relics are not everyone’s cup of tea, but they’re mine. When I saw this one, it was love at first sight. I brought it home and promptly painted it a ridiculously bright red color, and that is how Brandon got his first grownup bed.

…the bed…

~When we moved back to town, the first thing I wanted to do was make a room for the grandchildren. They’ve been sleeping in the guest room with their parents on previous visits. The room I wanted to use was already painted a good medium blue color, (because I can’t take pastels) and since I had begged H to drag that bed from house to house as we moved around over the years, hoping I would have grandchildren someday who would use it, I didn’t have to buy a new bed. He went up to the attic and dragged it down to the garage for me. The white paint came out, and I was off to the races.

A couple of coats of primer and paint, and look what we have.

…gathering all the stuff together…

There were trips to Marshall’s and Target for bedding. I found a serious bargain on the comforter, pillow and red blanket at Marshall’s, and…

…H said, “I believe we’ve found a theme.” Okay, he didn’t say that, but he did say, “Trains. Yeah, they’ll like trains.”

Then we went to Goodwill to look for shelves. We hit pay-dirt. ($5 for the small one and $7 for the long one) They were brown wood, and one of them was a little rickety and loose, but a few nails and a little hammering (courtesy of H) and a bit of white paint (courtesy of me) made everything perfect. (H picked out and bought the train.)

~

…and this is how it all turned out…

Ta Daaa…
~

I had coupons for the curtains. Lots of coupons. ~

…and the finishing touches…

The print is called Heads or Tails. I found it at a thrift shop about three years ago.~

Noah was found at a thrift shop about a year ago for a couple of dollars.

Teddy was purchased many years ago on a trip to the mountains with my BFF.~

Nona’s Raggedy Ann when she was a little girl…

Papa’s shoes when he was a very little boy… …and that’s how you make a bedroom on a shoestring.

2 thoughts on “Our Latest Project… On a Shoestring…

Leave a Reply

