Rice or Potato?

100_9769_3_2

My daughter-in-law makes delicious rice. I’ve never been a huge fan of rice. When I was a kid, there were two kinds of families: the rice families and the potato families. We were a potato family. To this day, I’ve never met a potato I didn’t like.

Then, on one of our visits, I watched as Madina fussed around a particular pan on the stove. She would do a little something to it, and then go on to something else, only to return in a bit and fuss over it a little more. I took a peek. It was rice, but not the usual steamed rice I grew up with. Bits of color were in it, and it had a slight sheen, and it smelled delicious.

I asked her how she made it.  The same as ordinary rice, it simmered in water, but that’s where the similarities ended. There was the addition of olive oil and sauteed vegetables, etc. I added cilantro, tomatoes, onions, and even a chopped red bell pepper to mine last night. I don’t think it’s exactly as she made her rice, but rather a version. We really enjoy it.  I make it about once a week now, but I can’t wait for her to visit and make it for us again.

One thought on “Rice or Potato?

Leave a Reply

